CHECK AVAILABILITY FOR TOUR IN PERU

LIMA INFORMATION

 

More than 400 years ago, the Spanish conqueror (\"conquistador\") Francisco Pizarro named Lima the City of the Kings (\"Ciudad de los Reyes\"). Nowadays, that same city, which rose from the lands of the native chief Taulischusco, is a metropolis of over 7 million people who proudly preserve the colonial convents and mansions  which are symbols of their ancient and noble traditions.

 

Lima, capital of Peru, founded on January 18, 1535, is a  modern city which, while constantly expanding, has also managed to maintain the elegance of its Historic Center . Declared a UNESCO World Heritage Center, due to the large number of artistic monuments found there, Historic Lima is an enchanting haven of a period long gone.

 

ALTITUDE: 154 meters

 

CLIMATE:

Average annual temperature: 19° (Maximum 25° & minimum 13° C). The rainy season is in winter, from June to September.

 

ACCESS:

 Lima being the capital of Peru, is linked via the South Pan-American Highway with all the cities along the coast, from Ecuador to the north down as far south as Chile. Lima is connected to the cities in the interior via the Central Highway, the Marginal Highway and penetration routes. There are also flights from Lima\'s Jorge Chavez International Airport to the world\'s main cities as well as major cities around Peru. Jorge Chavez is in the constitutional province of Callao, Peru\'s main port.

 

LIMA METROPOLITANA:

In almost five centuries passed from its Spanish foundation, Lima has been synonymous of a surprising miscegenation that visualizes in its polished and innovative culinary art, in his monumental architecture, that engrosa the Cultural Patrimony of the Humanity from 1991; and in its people, crafty and capable, really expert at adapting to the changes

 

REGION OF LIMA:

Shaped by 8 bordering provinces to the cardinal city between (among) them we have: Barranca Huaura, Huaral, Canta, Oyon, Cañete Huarochiri, yauyos.

 

HISTORY AND GEOGRAPHY:

Centuries before it was founded as the City of Kings, the territory of Lima, capital of Peru and of the department of Lima, was inhabited by civilizations that had gauged its wealth and strategic location. Proof of that can be seen in the countless huacas or temples that dotted the valley, particularly the Pachacamac shrine, a major pilgrimage center during the Inca empire. This spurred Spanish Conqueror Francisco Pizarro in 1535 to choose the Rimac River Valley to found the capital, as its location by the sea provided a link with sailing routes. Lima is the main gateway to Peru, a major city bustling with living history and movement. It is an ethnic melting pot, featuring pre-Hispanic, colonial and modern elements. The metropolis is also surrounded by every aspect of Nature: the sea, islands, mountains, desert and plantlife. Its various quarters feature an active nightlife and well-endowed cultural scene, as well as plentiful public transport and non-stop activities, a city of more than 8 million souls.

 

Before exploring Lima, the visitor should map out a route. The old city center harbors churches and mansions brimming with colonial and religious art, including such superb architectural examples as the Casa Aliaga or Palacio de Torre Tagle mansions. Colonial Lima also features many fine churches and convents such as Santo Domingo, San Agustin, San Francisco and La Merced. Further south lie the Pantanos de Villa, a natural wetlands area which has been declared a reserved zone and which is a haven for more than 150 bird species, while the Pachacamac complex is to be found further south. In the Cañete highlands, 180 km from Lima, lies the Lunahuana Valley, a hotspot for adventure sports.

 

To the north, 105 km from Lima are the Lomas de Lachay, a national reserve in the foothills which features a unique mist-fed eco-system of wild plant and animal species. A little further north, meanwhile, is Paramonga, which features pre-Hispanic archaeological sites. The climate is dryer and sunnier east up the Central Highway, in the Andean foothills. The road heads up through the province of Huarochiri, until it reaches the town of San Pedro de Casta, from where one can see the Marcahuasi plateau. The area is the site of huge natural formations eroded by the climate into the shape of animals and people.

 

TOURISTY ATTRACTIVENESS OF HISTORICAL CENTER:

 

HISTORICAL CENTER:

The 18 of January of 1535 the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro and twelve of their companions, founded the city of Lima, in the most central and extensive valley of the coast of Peru, under a calm and calm sky, in the shores of the Rimac river, to two leguas of the sea and near a town of Indians governed by the Taulichusco cacique. It was called to him, \"City of the Kings\", name that, although was given more by religious reasons, today, contemplated to the distance of almost five centuries, seems like a prophetic revelation of the greatness to that there was to arrive the future virreynato.

 

GREATER SEAT:

Created by Francisco Pizarro, it is the old center of Lima, the Palace of the President of the Republic or Palace of Government occupies the place of the palace of Virreyes; the Cathedral, is the site occupied by the primitive church founded by Pizarro and next to her are the small Church of the shrine and the Archiepiscopal Palace. Is the old town hall in the site that today occupies the Municipality. We know that it was in addition scene, in colonial times, of celebrations, processions, run of bulls and cars of faith of the Inquision; as well as place where they were sold in public auctions the goods of the victims of this one.

 

CATHEDRAL OF LIMA:

One is in the Greater Seat and it began to be constructed the same day of the foundation of the city, 18 of January of 1535. Originally, it was a modest temple, but in 1564 the Hieronymite master builder of Loayza, designed a temple of great dimensions, seemed to the Cathedral of Seville.

 

PALACE OF GOVERNMENT:

Located in the Seat of Arms, it has elegant halls, in addition to valuable paintings. It is also known him with the name of House of Pizarro, because one rises in the place chosen by the conqueror, to build the seat of his administration.

 

THE CHURCH AND CONVENT OF SAN FRANCISCO:

By its magnificent unit of volume and color, this architectonic set is considered like the obtained monumental atmosphere more of Hispano-America. Its construction began in 1542 and concluded in 1674.

The convent , the claustros and porteria, are adorned with Sevillian tiles and, underneath them, underground galleries or catacombs exist that, at the virreinal time, served like cemetery.

 

THE GENERAL CEMENTERY PRESBITERO MATIAS MAESTRO:

was inaugurated in 1808 and Manuel To Fuentes later writes it like \"one of the best establishments of the Capital; its inner and outer aspect is most beautiful (...) Luxurious tablets and sumptuous marble monuments lock up the rest of people who enjoyed xxxx fortune or which they have occupied high positions in the Republic, such as generals Mar, Gamarra, Salaverry, Necochea, etc.

 

PARK THE WALL LIMA:

One but of our cultural patrimonies. Today it is a turistico place and relaxation for Limean and the visitors of the interior and the foreigner.

Its area is of 25 thousand square meters. An area, for my pleases quite ample! The park of the wall is located in the first block of the Amazon shred and the Abancay avenue. with a type of colonial modern architecture and another very simpatica one. Account with two levels. The superior level is surrounded with metallic grates. It has two stone entrances one towards the tree-lined avenue that has the monumental sink with the square of beautiful arts and the pergola of the viewpoint. Many green areas. banks colonial type lampposts cronica type. and a peatonal bridge. In the inferior level it is possible to be appreciated a tree-lined avenue with paving stones of concrete and lajas of stones. A cycle via, approach ramps to vehicular and peatonal. The parking is approximately for about 40 to 50 cars. Also it has 4 water mirrors. Minusvalidos inclines for. Peatonales bridges with characteristics of Lima Old. Museum (it even seems to me noninagurado) (where colonial arqueologicas pieces found exibiran despues of the renovation of the park). commercial stores, restaurant, Telephone cabins, And other services. New his iluminacion is attractive the special one during the night. 11 months for their restoration were taken. With a little but of 2 million of dolares of investment.

 

CHURCH AND CONVENT OF LA MERCED:

The church of the Favor dates from century XVI. Nevertheless, the original structure had to be modified and to be reconstructed in century XVIII, since the earthquakes had caused serious damages in the construction of the temple. In the Favor, the art is shaped in the pictures of fabric the oil of the artist Victor Mideros, who emphasizes in them subjects of religious character. An English of black moon, fact in 1817 and installed clock in 1820, is located in the tower of the church. One of the infrastructures that have not modified its original appearance is claustro of the Favor, since it conserves the brickwork.

 

BUILDING OF THE INQUISICION:

Still the Room of Office of Hearings or the Judgments subsists, with his beautiful adorned with caissons of the S. XVIII, that so many dramatic processes have been present at. They have desescombrado part of mazmorras underground that the tourist can cross.

 

PALACE OF TAGLE TOWER:

The most beautiful mansion of Lima of principles of century XVIII. A true work of art of the Limean architecture by its absolute originality, that demonstrates Andalusian contributions, Moors, Creoles and Asians, those that fit harmoniously.

The Palace, present seat of the Ministry of Outer Relations, has a carved stone cover and two balconies, that they are authentic jewels of the City of the Kings.

 

THE CHURCH AND CONVENT OF SANTO DOMINGO

It is the oldest convent and by his architectonic characteristics he is one of the most harmonic corners of the city. It is conformed by a succession of claustros and patios in winch of which to areas on watch and communitarian stays are distributed. To the right of their greater altar, are the rest of Santa Rosa of Lima , San Martin de Porres and of the Devout Juan Masias.

 

CHURCH AND MONASTERY OF SANTA ROSA OF LIMA:

This architectonic complex was built between centuries XVII and XVIII next to the house in which it was born Santa Rosa of Lima, Pattern of Lima, America and the Philippines. The sanctuary was finished constructing in 1728, but soon it was demolished in 1874 to construct a church there. In 1912, the Dominican ones again assumed the handling of the place, reconstructing the sanctuary towards 1923.

At the present time, the complex is formed by the church and the sanctuary. The zone of the sanctuary is constituted by some original atmospheres in which Santa lived. It emphasizes the hermitage that she herself constructed, in 1614, to pray. In you even marinate still see the tracks of its fingers. Another attractive important one is the well of 19 ms of depth, in which it is said threw the key of the silicon that bordered its waist in penance signal. Finally, is the lemon tree planted by Santa. The celebration of Santa Rosa of Lima is celebrated the 30 of August.

 

CHURCH OF NAZARENAS:

It was Don Sebastian de Antuñano and Rivas the true impeller of the construction of the Sanctuary of the Gentleman of the Miracles. Named fourth butler of the sagrada image in 1684, it bought lands bordering to the zone -- where the scallop shell until today -- and was constructed the first church of the Mulberry Christ. This one suffered serious damages by the attack of the time and earthquakes. This first construction -- that it practically required to be demolished in 1746 -- will follow in importance the one to him that was constructed in 1771 by initiative of the Virrey Amat. This temple has suffered, to the present time, so many remodelings as earthquakes have supported the City of the Kings. What began being a small chapel is now an imposing temple of beautiful architecture, and that, contrary the happened thing with other monuments, has been embellished progressively after the many reconstructions and adjustments of which it has been object.

 

MUSEUM OF ART THE LIMA:

Located on the Palacio de la Exposicion (Palace of the Exhibition) since 1961. It was built in 1872 with plans of Gustave Eiffel. Formed by donated pieces and legacies. It exhibits collections that show the art of Peru from the prehistory and the first human discoveries until the contemporary art. Ceramic and fabric pre-Hispanic cultures collections. Silver jewels, furniture and colonial dresses. Paintings of the \"Escuela Cusqueña\" and of the periods republican and contemporary, outstanding the collections of Ignacio Merino, Pancho Fierro and Carlos Baca Flor.

 

PARK OF THE EXPOSITION:

The construction of this park, formerly know as Park of the Exposition, generated much controversy in the capital. The idea was to put culture within the reach of the majority, an objective that was reached with the help of a multi-million dollar investment. The park has several different stages for live performances. Most of these performances are free, and the productions have something to offer audiences of all ages. Everything from puppeteers to open theater to musicals from all over the world can be enjoyed here.

 

CHURCH AND CONVENT OF THE BAREFOOT ONES:

At the end of the Almeda of the Barefoot ones, on the foot of the Hill San Cristobal. Calm Limean convent, true oasis of peace, founded on 1592; it does not have greater architectonic pretensions, but he is typical of the time; interesting pinacoteca.

 

VIEWPOINT OF THE HILL SAN CRISTOBAL:

Probable indigenous portable altar that she was witness of the historical evolution of the city, of where a splendid Vista of Lima is had. Interesting museum of site.

 

ZONE ARQUEOLOGICA:

Huana Huallamarca or Pan de Azucar

Huaca of piramidal form totally reconstruida, belongs to the Culture Lima. Small museum of site with objects found in the zone.

 

HUACA PUCLLANA:

Pertaining to the Culture Lima, construida integramente with it marinates small handmade. Interesting museum of site and park of flora and native fauna.

 

CUSCO WONDERS TRAVEL

Calle Meloc 445 Cercado Cusco - Peru | Telephone: + 51 84 254225 Movil: + 51 984308834 MSN: cuscowonderstravel@hotmail.com | reservascuscowonderstravel@hotmail.com

http://www.cuscowonderstravel.com |  info@cuscowonderstravel.com

Cusco Wonders Travel       2013 All rights reserved